Begin Anywhere

Hi.

Again.

I used to be the chick behind Filling My Prayer Closet. Remember? Well, I let that expire because I didn’t want to share personal stories anymore. I wrote something that was really deep and personal. I think I went too close to the core of my being, or maybe I peeled back too many layers and needed to pivot.

Begin Anywhere Cristina Trinidad The Trinidad Clan

So, I worked on this Faithfully Social and this Cristina Makes for this shop.

Long story short, I’m here to start over. I can’t say that I won’t peel back those layers again. I thought it would be cathartic, I thought it would help, but I wasn’t ready. A year and a half later, I am.

Today, I can say that I am a more grounded, see-it-coming, Jesus really has my back, kinda girl. You may be saying that all this sounds vague, or you don’t really get my brand just yet. Well, that’s because I am just beginning anywhere. Why? I’ll never do it otherwise. I will keep tooling around the theme, wait to purchase the domain name, debating whether I should go self-hosted or not, getting my old URL back for ($199, wuuut?) writing the perfect about me page, or think about what I should do about the other sites/blogs/shop before I start another adventure.

I’ll share what I find relatable, funny, joyful, poignant, must-have, exciting, and maybe ask you questions, because I don’t have all the answers.

The Trinidad Clan is how my family signs cards for Christmas, Birthdays or any special occasion. I even embroidered a hoop with that. I wanted to share our family with you. Our special, once-unequally-yoked, blended, Puerto Rican-American, traditional in most ways, life.

Here’s what I can say, and thankfully:

  • I am no longer in an unequally yoked marriage. My husband converted to the Catholic faith, two years ago this Pentecost :::praise hands:::
  • My oldest son is going to public school a year early. His decision, and he’s completely at ease with this. I am grateful.
  • My youngest son has Generalized Anxiety Disorder but we are managing it with lots of chats, snuggles, rosaries, and essential oils.
  • I no longer eat dairy. Wuuut? Yeah. Almond milk creamer and cashew milk smoothies for me thanks. I realized that I don’t feel as tired, groggy or bloated anymore.
  • I’ll be 40 this year. F-o-r-t-y.
  • I am 3-4 classes away from finishing my masters degree to teach High School English.
  • I’m a vegan.
  • I learned how to say no to things that I knew would help us financially as a family, but just didn’t have time for, if I wanted to focus on what I promised myself and my family I would #dreams. If you know me at all, you know I say ‘yes’ to all.the.things. (see all the sites I manage up there? all.the.things.).
  • I love yoga, but never make time for it (on my list).
  • I am proudly Catholic. A convert.
  • I have two dogs. A Beagle Basset Hound mix named Lucy, and a rescue Terrier Mix named Lola (we just got her a week ago).
  • I fixed my youngest son’s St. Padre Pio rosary in the middle of this post. Pray. Hope + Don’t Worry, indeed!

I am just beginning, and I’m not really worried about it not being perfect, about Pinterest, SEO, alt-text, adding links to keep you on the page. I am more focused on just beginning, connecting and writing.

There was more I was going to say, but after fixing that rosary, my mind is a total blank.

Thanks for welcoming me back.

Cristina

P.S. I wrote a guest post for Mary Lenaburg about a new devotional journal that I would love for you to read with me (the online community starts July 11th). Check out my review for Consider the Lilies, here.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Begin Anywhere

  1. So glad you’re back! I’m the same way. So what if I have no time to cobble together an image? No matter! The important thing is connecting. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

